An error occured. Details Hide
You have unsaved pages. Restore Cancel
More Actions

 World Arab 22 | GCC 6

The World Bank’s Knowledge Assessment Methodology (KAM: is an online interactive tool that produces the Knowledge Economy Index (KEI)–an aggregate index representing a country’s or region’s overall preparedness to compete in the Knowledge Economy (KE). The KEI is based on a simple average of four subindexes, which represent the four pillars of the knowledge economy: 1) Economic Incentive and Institutional Regime (EIR), 2) Innovation and Technological Adoption , 3) Education and Training,  4) Information and Communications Technologies (ICT) Infrastructure. The EIR comprises incentives that promote the efficient use of existing and new knowledge and the flourishing of entrepreneurship. An efficient innovation system made up of firms, research centers, universities, think tanks, consultants, and other organizations can tap into the growing stock of global knowledge, adapt it to local needs, and create new technological solutions. An educated and appropriately trained population is capable of creating, sharing, and using knowledge. A modern and accessible ICT infrastructure serves to facilitate the effective communication, dissemination, and processing of information.

Source: Knowledge Economy Index (World Bank)

Last updated: